The Hermitage in Ho-Ho-Kus, New Jersey, is a National Historic Landmark that is also listed on the National and State Registers of Historic Places. Its picturesque Gothic Revival design dates from a remodeling completed in 1847–48 by the architect William H. Ranlett for Elijah Rosencrantz Jr. The rarity and completeness of its architecture is the basis for The Hermitage's National Historic Landmark designation.
The Hermitage is much more than a historic house museum. It is a focal point for our community and an invaluable resource for everyone living and working in the local area.
The Hermitage Museum encompasses 250 years of history. Although in appearance it is a Victorian home, the site is rich in history. George Washington headquartered here for four days in July 1778 after the Battle of Monmouth, and Theodosia Prevost married Aaron Burr at The Hermitage in 1782.
In 1807, the local physician Elijah Rosencrantz purchased the historically rich Hermitage and its extensive property; his descendants lived in the home continuously until 1970. In 1847–48, the architect William H. Ranlett designed a remodeling of the house in the Gothic Revival style for Dr. Rosencrantz's son Elijah, who operated a successful cotton mill on Ho-Ho-Kus Brook.
The home's last owner and resident, Mary Elizabeth Rosencrantz, bequeathed the house on five acres of grounds, along with its contents, to the State of New Jersey on her death in 1970. The Hermitage was much deteriorated but nearly unchanged from its 1848 appearance. In 1970–72, the State of New Jersey restored The Hermitage and designated it a State Park under the jurisdiction of Ringwood State Park in the Division of Parks and Forestry, Department of Environmental Conservation.